Only One Not Promoted

This is a public forum allowing posting as a guest.
Upset
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Only One Not Promoted

#1 Post by Upset »

I've been working in the same organisation for 8 years, manager level.
Part time but always work extra time. Have email on my phone, attend meetings outside normal hours.

So today a company meeting was held. 80% of the staff are new (employed this past year).
The remaining 20% were all promoted today (or have been in the past year). All except me (and maybe 2 other people).

The CEO announced that *if you were going to be promoted you would already know)
I haven’t had my review yet. I'm due to have my appraisal this week.

I'm very happy for everyone promoted but I'm absolutely gutted. I feel slighted. Invisible. I feel like I've no profile.
I work hard, very hard. And to be overlooked like this has really knocked me for six.

I'm too emotional at the moment. I cried all the way home and haven't stopped.
I know it's pathetic to be crying but honesty I'm heartbroken I've not been recognised.
My Senior Manager is very factual and doesn't like emotions. So when i meet wirh them this week I need to be strong, decisive and basically what?
Every single review I've had has been *exceeding expectations l*
What do I ask?

1. What is the criteria for promotion and how to I achieve this
2. Do I ask why wasn't I promoted?
3. What do I ask?
Grasscutter

Re: Only One Not Promoted

#2 Post by Grasscutter »

I just want to say how sorry I am you've been overlooked like this. It sucks not to feel appreciated. I think it's fine to be emotional about it - it's a natural reaction - but I guess you're going to have to park that when you speak to your manager so maybe get as much of it out of your system before then. Talk it through with someone you trust to ensure you've worked it all out.
Then write down what you want to ask and practice - but you probably know that.
I think asking about the criteria is a good one.