Career Crossroads

This is a public forum allowing posting as a guest.
CareerCrossroads
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Career Crossroads

#1 Post by CareerCrossroads »

Regular user going anon.
I'm having a bit of a midlife career crisis. Background is I've worked the same public sector role for 15 years. Started it straight after college as a graduate and I've just been too scared to change after all this time. There isn't huge room to advance in the role as it's technical in nature. I have zero management experience or qualifications which is what is expected in order to advance as I haven't had the time or heads headspace to study since having kids. I feel stuck in a rut especially after working from home the past two years.
Pros of the job are it's very secure, fairly OK pay for the work and stress level of the role, good annual leave, I know the role and team like the back of my hand so there's no great difficulty with any of the work I do and I have a pension linked to the job.
Cons of the job are there's little variety due to the nature of the job, I've been here so long without a change I feel myself getting very set in ways like always having my lunch at the same time and always wanting things a certain way, sometimes I feel like a cliché with my little habits, I feel myself losing confidence in my ability to make a change with every year that passes, I wonder if I would ever be able to change because I'm so stuck in this specific role.
My options are to take a career break for a couple of years and maybe retrain or do a masters but I'm not sure exactly what this would lead to.
Option 2 is to appreciate what I have and realise how lucky I have it.
Or another option is to try applying for jobs just to see what I could get?
Is it too late to change into a new role or sector when you've a grand total of one job on your CV? I had a slight panic today when I realised I could be stuck here for another 30 years if I just keep limping along.