Medical sales representitive - any experience?

This is a public forum allowing posting as a guest.
Anon
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Medical sales representitive - any experience?

#1 Post by Anon »

Sorry for the anon but I suspect my ward manager is a member and knows who I am so I need to ask this question anonymously
I'm considering a career in medical rep/sales, I'm a nurse with little interest at this stage and I think this could be a change of direction I'd enjoy.
Has anyone experience of this type of job? Really i want to identify the pitfalls and the things they won't tell you in interview. I have a position that looks like it could be a runner but as I've never really had much to do with the reps I don't know if I'm setting myself up for a fall.
The driving and self direction parts of the job I think I will enjoy as well as the constant change and need to be on form. But I'm afraid that I'm painting a unrealistic picture of what it will mean for me and and how I will work it around a family.

jagg

Re: Medical sales representitive - any experience?

#2 Post by jagg »

A lady I know did exactly this. She is a single parent so it must work out ok. I know she travels but only around Ireland, in zctual fact I think her area is only in Leinster. Her child's dad is around and has the kid a few nights a week as well as every second weekend so she might be able to work things around that. That's as much as I know.

Iamanisland

#3 Post by Iamanisland »

I know a girl who does this, she does a lot of driving but seems happy enough. They had no problem giving her a 3 day week once she had kids.
Her car is absolutely fab! All the sitting down driving takes a toll on her though.

HeyJude

#4 Post by HeyJude »